September 17 2014 Latest news:
Sunday, April 15, 2012
Ledley King was furious with the decision to award the goal
Tottenham captain Ledley King blasted the decision to award Chelsea’s second goal in their FA Cup semi final at Wembley.
Juan Mata was awarded the goal despite the ball not going over, or even on, the line much to the fury of Spurs.
“Obviously I haven’t seen it again but from where I was I didn’t think it crossed the line,” King said.
“The referee said he made the decision and I find it hard to believe he could see it from where he was.
“There’s nothing you can do. He makes the decision and it’s a massive decision at the end of the day.
“You expect the linesman to have made it. At 2-0 down you know it’s going to be a tough game against Chelsea.
“We got ourselves back in the game at 2-1 and we’ve just been caught out trying to get that second goal and we’ve been picked off.”
Didier Drogba had given Chelsea the lead before Mata ‘struck’ and although Gareth Bale pulled a goal back; Ramires, Frank Lampard and Florent Malouda sealed the win for the Blues.